Opticianry Licensing Boards

(As of October, 2018)

Alaska State Board of Dispensing Opticians
Thomas Bay, Licensing Examiner
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Dispensing Opticians
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK  99811-0806
Telephone Number: (907) 465-2588
Email: thomas.bay@alaska.gov

Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians
Megan Darian, Executive Director
1740 West Adams, Suite 3001
Phoenix, AZ  85007
Telephone Number: (602) 542-8158
Email: mdarian@asbdo.state.az.us

Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians
Jerry Ann Himes, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 627
Helena, AR  72342
Telephone Number: (870) 572-2847
Email: Jerryann.himes@vision.zeiss.com

California State Board of Opticianry
(This is a Division of the California State Board of Optometry)
Executive Director, Registered Dispensing Optician Program
Department of Consumer Affairs
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105
Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone Number: (916) 575-7186
Email: rdoprogram@dca.ca.gov

Connecticut Opticians Licensure
Jeffrey A. Kardys
Administrative Hearings Specialist/Board Liaison
State of Connecticut
Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Ave., MS #13PHO
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT  06134-0308
Telephone Number: (860) 509-7566
Email: Jeffrey.Kardys@ct.gov

Florida Department of Health
Jennifer L. Wenhold, MSW, Executive Director
Florida Board of Opticianry
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C08
Tallahassee, FL  32399-3258
Telephone Number: (850) 245-4460
Email: jennifer.wenhold@flhealth.gov

Georgia State Board of Dispensing Opticians       
Brig Zimmerman, Executive Director, Healthcare I
Office of Secretary of State
Professional Licensing Boards Division
237 Coliseum Dr.
Macon, GA  31217-3858
Telephone Number: (478) 207-2440
Email: jzimmerman@sos.ga.gov

Hawaii Board of Dispensing Opticians
James Kobashigawa, Executive Officer
Dept. of Commerce & Consumer Affairs–PVL
Attention: Dop
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI  96801
Telephone Number: (800) 468-4644
Email: optician@dcca.hawaii.gov

Kentucky Board of Ophthalmic Dispensers
Megan Woodson, Interim Board Administrator
911 Leawood Drive
Frankfurt, KY  40602
Telephone Number: (502) 464-3296
Email: BOD@ky.gov 

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Dispensing Opticians
Michael Hawley, Executive Director
1000 Washington St., Suite 710
Boston, MA  02118-6100
Telephone Number: (617) 727-6524
Email: michael.e.hawley@mass.gov 

Nevada State Board of Dispensing Opticians
Corrine Sedran, Executive Director
4790 Caughlin Parkway, Suite 241
Reno, NV 89519-0907
Telephone Number: (775) 689-0132
Email: info@nvopticians.org

New York State Board of Ophthalmic Dispensing
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Ophthalmic Dispensing Unit
89 Washington Ave. 2nd Floor West
Albany, NY  12334-1000
Telephone Number: (518) 474-3817 (Extension 250)
Email: Opunit1@mail.nysed.gov

North Carolina Board of Opticians
Sue M. Hodgin, Director
PO.Box 6758
Raleigh, NC  27628-6758
Telephone Number: (919) 420-1390
Email: shodgin@ncopticiansboard.org

Ohio Optical Dispensers Board
Kathleen Eagan, Executive Director
77 S. High St., 16th Floor
Columbus, OH  43215-6108
Telephone Number: (614) 466-9709
Email: odb@odb.ohio.gov or board@vision.ohio.gov 

Puerto Rico Department of Health
Mr. Carlos Santana
Office of Regulations and Licensing of Health Professionals
PO Box 10200
San Juan, PR 00908
Telephone Number: (787) 725-7903

Rhode Island Opticians Advisory Committee
J. Michel Martineau, Health Policy Analyst
Division of Professional Regulation
3 Capitol Hill, Room 104
Providence, RI 02908
Telephone Number: (401) 222-2828
Email: JMichel.Martineau@health.ri.gov

South Carolina Board of Examiners in Opticianry
April Koon, CPM, Program Manager
110 Centerview Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
Telephone Number: (830) 896-4625
Email: april.koon@llr.sc.gov

Tennessee Licensing Board for Dispensing Opticians
Yvette Vagle, Board Administrator
Division of Health-Related Boards
665 Mainstream Drive
Nashville, TN 37243
Telephone Number: (615) 741-5735
Email: Yvette.vagle@tn.gov 

Vermont Secretary of State
Aprille Morrison
Office of Professional Regulation
89 Main St., 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT  05620-3402
Telephone Number: (802) 828-2373
Email: aprille.morrison@sec.state.vt.us

Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians
Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director
9960 Mayland Dr., Ste. 400
Richmond, VA  23233
Telephone Number: (804) 367-8569
Email: hasopt@dpor.virginia.gov or demetrios.melis@dpor.virginia.gov

Washington State Department of Health
Debra K. Mendoza
Office of Health Professions
PO Box 47852
Olympia, WA 98504-7852
Telephone Number: (360) 236-4700
Email: debra.mendoza@doh.wa.gov